DISTRICT AND MUNICIPAL COURT MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION

May 21, 2021 Zoom Annual Business Meeting Minutes

Officers Present:

- 1. Patti Kohler, President
- 2. Kris Thompson, President Elect
- 5. Judy Ly, Treasurer

- 3. Patti Kohler, Ellen Attebery
- 4. Past President, Dawn Williams
- 6. Maryam Olson, Secretary

Call to Order: The meeting called to order by President Patti Kohler.

Welcome and Introductions: President Patti Kohler welcomes all members present and special guest, Judge Robinson from Colfax Municipal Court.

Approval of 2020 Minutes: Minutes from the 2020 Annual Business meeting were submitted by Secretary Maryam Olson. Mickey Zitkovich makes a motion to approve the minutes, Krissy Chapman seconds the motion. Meeting minutes are approved.

Treasurer Report: Treasurer's report submitted by Treasurer Judy Ly. Kris Thompson makes a motion to approve the treasurers report, Dawn Williams seconds the motion. Treasurer's report is approved.

Standing Committees

Conference/Education Committee: Margaret Yetter reports that there were many education sessions done this past year in lieu of the cancelling of the 2020 Annual Conference – Margaret thanks the Education Committee as well as AOC with all their help. Update on ARLJ 14 – the committee worked with Judge Goodwin from DMCJA Rules Committee the last couple of months fine tuning it. It got approved at the DMCJA board meeting in May and is being sent to the Supreme Court.

Legislative Committee: Report was provided in the packet.

Membership Committee: Report was provided in the packet.

By Laws/Policy and Procedures: Kris Thompson sent an item regarding travel reimbursement to Patti Kohler – this will be addressed at the first meeting in July.

Technology Committee: Uneek Maylor reports that the vendor has not been working on the website. Uneek has been in contact with management and a deadline has been set of 72 hours that the website will be built in. The hold-up was not having a logo built – it didn't have a clear background on it. Current logo was sent with clear background. More information will be given at the next meeting.

Special Acknowledgments: Patti Kohler thanks standing committee chairs and co-chairs: Conference Committee – Margaret Yetter and Dawn Williams; Education Committee – Margaret Yetter and Ellen Attebery; Membership Committee – Mickey Zitkovich; Legislative Committee – Kathy Seymour and Maryam Olson; Technology Committee – Uneek Maylor. Patti also thanks the Regional Directors - Central East Director – Diana MacKenzie; Central West

Director – Amy Knutsen; Northwest Director – Mickey Zitkovich; Northeast Director Terri Cooper; Southwest Director Maryam Olson; Southeast Director Krissy Chapman.

President's Award: Patti Kohler recognizes Lillian Hawkins and LaTricia Kinlow as recipients of the President's Award with their achievements for the work on the Silence = Acceptance – this is the biggest achievement for DMCMA education as it has not only reached courts of limited jurisdiction, but judges and other associations. Lillian Hawkins thanks Patti and everyone on their work on this program. LaTricia Kinlow thanks Patti and everyone for their support on this. Patti Kohler thanks the staff at King County District Court for their support in assisting Lillian and LaTricia.

Certification of Regional Directors: Patti Kohler advises that the president elect – Kris Thompson has appointed the regional directors from each region. Patti acknowledges the 2021- 2022 regional directors: Central East – Mary Beth Phillips; Central West – Amy Knutsen; Northwest – Mickey Zitkovich; Northeast – Sherri Hansen; Southwest – Maryam Olson; Southeast – Krissy Chapman. Kris Thompson motions to certify the selected regional directors. Jennefer Johnson seconds the motion. The motion is carried.

Election of Officers: Patti Kohler announces candidates for each position and requests any nominations from the floor. No contested elections this year, based on bylaws, will call for unanimous vote.

Secretary: Serena Daigle from King County District Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Othniel Palomino makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Serena Daigle for Secretary. Lillian Hawkins seconded motion. The motion is carried.

Treasurer: Judy Ly from Pierce County District Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Lea Garner makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Judy Ly for Treasurer. Dawn Williams seconded motion. The motion is carried.

Vice President: LaTricia Kinlow from Tukwila Municipal Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Mickey Zitkovich makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for LaTricia Kinlow for Vice President. Patrick Wells seconded motion. The motion is carried.

President Elect: Ellen Attebery from Puyallup Municipal Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Margaret Yetter makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Ellen Attebery for President Elect. Serena Daigle seconded motion. The motion is carried.

President: Kris Thompson from Whitman County District Court who served as President Elect this year will automatically advance to the office of President for the 2021-2022 term.

Installation of the Officers: Judge Robinson administers the Oath of Office to newly elected officers and regional directors present.

Outgoing President Presentation: Dawn Williams presents Patti Kohler with an award for her dedicated service as the president of DMCMA. Dawn thanks Patti for her work and dedication and wish's her luck in her upcoming retirement. Patti states she is retiring November 30, 2021. She will attend the conference in Spokane in 2022. She thanks everyone for their hard work and adaptability through the challenging times.

Introduction of New President: Patti Kohler passes the gavel to incoming President, Kris Thompson and introduces, makes special remarks, and congratulates President Kris Thompson. Kris Thompson accepts her position as DMCMA President addresses members and gives her remarks.

Patti Kohler thanks her leadership team at the King County District Court for allowing her to be the President of DMCMA and all their support.

New/Old Business: Model Court Administrator Draft – LaTricia Kinlow gives a background on the job description of the model court administrator being outdated. The group working on the draft were LaTricia Kinlow, Ellen Attebery, Kris Thompson, Krissy Chapman, Serena Daigle and Jennefer Johnson for it to become a statewide model. DMCMA must approve it and then it is sent to BJA for consideration and approval. Jennefer Johnson adds that the model was created by looking across the US and not just WA State as many duties were those we are doing as well and thus creates a broader description. Serena Daigle adds this will bring the level of administration to where it should be and equal across the executive branch. Ellen Attebery thanks all administrators for their hard work. This description will help for succession planning and what the focus needs to be. We need to reflect the work we do. Kathy Seymour makes a motion to adopt the model court administrator job description. Dawn Williams seconds the motion. The motion carries.

Margaret Yetter thanks Pam Dittman and all of AOC for helping with all the on-line education and all the work they have done.

Pam Dittman reminds all to do their evaluations.

Patti Kohler adjourns the meeting.

Respectfully Submitted, Maryam Olson 2020 DMCMA Secretary