

DISTRICT AND MUNICIPAL COURT MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION

May 18, 2022 Zoom Annual Business Meeting Minutes

Officers Present:

- 1. Kris Thompson, President
- 3. Trish Kinlow, Vice President
- 5. Judy Ly, Treasurer

- 2. Ellen Attebery, President Elect
- 4. Past President, Not Present
- 6. Serena Daigle, Secretary

Call to Order: The meeting called to order by President Kris Thompson.

Welcome and Introductions: President Kris Thompson welcomes all members present and special guest, Judge Andrea Beall from Puyallup Municipal Court.

Special Acknowledgements: President Kris Thompson takes a moment to recognize previous DMCMC presidents present at the meeting.

A moment of silence is recognized for those court members who were lost this year. Chief Justice Mary Fairhurst, Superior Court Judge Steiner, and Ocean Shores Court Administrator Jennifer Hugo.

Approval of 2020 Minutes: Minutes from the 2021 Annual Business meeting were submitted by Secretary Maryam Olson. Minutes accepted as written.

Treasurer Report: Treasurer's report submitted by Treasurer Judy Ly. Two motions made between meetings to move money in the approved budget. The motions were to move \$3,000 from Misc, \$6000 from travel and \$4000 from Scholarship to the Education Spring Conference budget. Ellen Attebery makes a motion to approve the treasurer's report, Kathy Seymour seconds the motion. Motion passes - Treasurer's report is approved.

By Laws: Ellen Attebery reviews proposed by law changes that have been distributed to the association. Patsy Robinson moved to accept by law changes, Margaret Yetter seconds the motion. The motion is carried.

Standing Committees

Conference/Education Committee: Written report submitted. Thank you to Pam Dittman with AOC, she has been an integral part of making sure that the education is provided to the courts. Thank you to Laura and Phil for helping this week.

Legislative Committee: Written report submitted and distributed with materials.

Membership Committee: Written report submitted and distributed with materials.

By Laws/Policy and Procedures: Written report submitted and distributed with materials

Technology Committee: Report will be delivered under new business.

Courts helping Courts: Reports that this year has been the busiest year for courts helping courts. Thank you to all of the association members who have stepped up to help other courts. Special thanks to Trish Kinlow, Dee Morrill, and Margaret Yetter for stepping up. Paulette will be stepping down as chair of the committee and Dee Morrill will be now the chair of the committee

President's Award:

Certification of Regional Directors: Kris Thompson advises that the president elect – Ellen Attebery has appointed the regional directors from each region. Ellen acknowledges the 2022- 2023 regional directors: Central King – Kanani Johnson; Central East – Mary Beth Phillips; Central West – Amy Knutsen; Northwest – Mickey Zitkovich; Northeast – Sherri Hansen; Southwest – Maryam Olson; Southeast - TBD. Patsy Robinson motions to certify the selected regional directors. Suzi Elsner seconds the motion. The motion is carried.

Election of Officers: Patti Kohler announces candidates for each position and requests any nominations from the floor. No contested elections this year, based on bylaws, will call for unanimous vote.

Secretary: Serena Daigle from Des Moines Municipal nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Linda Hagert makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Serena Daigle for Secretary. Kanani Johnson seconded motion. The motion is carried.

Treasurer: Judy Ly from Pierce County District Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Deannie Martin makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Judy Ly for Treasurer. Kelly Fields seconded motion. The motion is carried.

Vice President: Jennefer Johnson from Des Moines Municipal Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Kathy Seymour makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Jennefer Johnson for Vice President. Margaret Yetter seconded motion. The motion is carried.

President Elect: Trish Kinlow from Tukwila Municipal Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Dawn Williams makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Trish Kinlow for President Elect. Margaret Yetter seconded motion. The motion is carried.

President: Ellen Attebery from Puyallup Municipal Court who served as President Elect this year will automatically advance to the office of President for the 2022-2023 term.

Installation of the Officers: Judge Andrea Beall administers the Oath of Office to newly elected officers and regional directors present.

Outgoing President Presentation: Dawn Williams thanks President Kris Thompson for her leadership during the pandemic. Kris Thompson remarks to association regarding time as President.

Introduction of New President: Kris Thompson passes the gavel to incoming President, Ellen Attebery. Judge Andrea Beall and introduces, makes special remarks, and congratulates President Ellen Attebery. Ellen Attebery accepts her position as DMCMA President addresses members and gives her remarks.

Ellen address the association as the incoming President.

New/Old Business: Uneek and Kanani present the new DMCMA website and Facebook site. A Power Point presentation given for the technology committee. The committee purchased a Microsoft 365 Business Basic Account. This will allow the members of the Executive Board to have an email account through the DMCMA instead of using the different court accounts. A silver subscription of JotForm has been purchased. The subscription includes the use of 100 active forms such as membership registration, conference registration, and electronic polls. The next steps for the technology committee is to continue building website, develop forms and surveys, create and distribute the email central accounts, working with Judy Ly to be able to accept credit card payments. Uneek gives a special thanks to Kanani for stepping up. Ellen gives a special thanks to the technology committee for the work done this year.

Awards Nomination Committee: Linda Hargart and Kanani Johnson present the proposed DMCMA Award Nomination Committee Definition/Purpose presented to the members. Award nomination process and suggested timelines is reviewed. Proposed categories include: Coach/Mentor of the Year, Early Career Excellence Award, Champion of Change, Distinguished Services, Lifetime Achievement, and Annual Retiree Recognition. Kanani shows the suggested Award Nomination form to the members. Suggested category of the Starfish Award in Memory of Justice Fairhurst.

Motion to adjourn by Margaret Yetter, second by Suzi Elsner. Motion passes.

Respectfully Submitted, Serena Daigle 2021 DMCMA Secretary