DISTRICT AND MUNICIPAL COURT MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION

May 21st, 2024 Annual Business Meeting Minutes

Officers Present:

- 1. LaTricia Kinlow, President
- 2. Frankie Peters, President Elect
- 3. Therese Murphy, Vice President
- 4. Ellen Attebery, Past President
- 5. Juanita Sifuentes, Treasurer
- 6. Candace Enders, Secretary

Call to Order: 12:10 p.m. the meeting was called to order by President LaTricia Kinlow.

Welcome and Introductions: President Trish Kinlow welcomes all members present and special guest, Judge Brett Buckley – Thurston County District Court. Trish recognizes past presidents: 2005-2006 – Margaret Yetter; 2007-2008 – Suzanne Elsner; 2018-2019 - Margaret Yetter; 2021-2022 – Kris Thompson; 2022-2023 – Ellen Attebery.

Approval of the Agenda: After no changes, Ellen Attebery moves to approve the agenda. Howard Delaney seconds the motion. Agenda approved.

Approval of 2023 Minutes: Minutes from the May 9th, 2023, Annual Business meeting were submitted by Secretary Maryam Olson. Therese Murphy makes a motion to approve the minutes, Patsy Robinson seconds the motion. Meeting minutes are approved.

Treasurer Report: Treasurer's report submitted by Juanita Sifuentes. Mary Beth Phillips motions to approve the treasurers report; Suzanne Elsner seconds the motion. Treasurer report is approved.

Standing Committees

Standing Committee reports were submitted in the conference packet.

Trish gives a big thanks to all of the courts that have assisted with Courts Helping Courts.

Misty Robison from the DEI Committee encourages anyone who is interested in joining the committee to please do. Trish notes anyone who is interested in joining a standing committee can find more information on the DMCMA website.

Frankie Peters provided a copy of the bylaws. Margaret Yetter makes a motion to approve the new drafted bylaws; Misty Robison seconds the motion. Bylaws approved.

Special Acknowledgments: Trish thanks all standing committee chairs and co-chair and Regional Directors.

Trish thanks Executive Officers: Past President – Ellen Attebery; Vice President – Therese Murphy; Treasurer – Juanita Sifuentes; Secretary – Candace Enders; President Elect – Frankie Peters.

Trish recognizes those members who have completed the CCM/CCE program.

Kanani Johnson, now an honorary DMCMA member, presents the awards for members by their peers:

Most Valuable Court Contributor – Paulette Revoir Coach/Mentor of the Year – Kristi Schorn & Suzanne Elsner Early Career Excellence – MiHa Kapaki Champion of Change – Ellen Attebery Distinguished Service – Bonnie Woodrow Lifetime Achievement – Trish Kinlow

President's Award: Trish Kinlow recognizes Mary Beth Phillips and Amy Knutsen as the recipients of the President's Award.

Election of Officers: Trish Kinlow announces candidates for each position and requests any nominations from the floor. No contested elections this year, based on bylaws, will call for unanimous vote.

Secretary: Candace Enders from Kent Municipal Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Valerie Marino makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Candace Enders for Secretary. Margaret Yetter seconded motion. The motion is carried.

Treasurer: Juanita Sifuentes from Yakima County District Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, MiHa Kapaki makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Juanita Sifuentes for Treasurer. Uneek Maylor seconded motion. The motion is carried.

Vice President: Mary Beth Phillips from East Wenatchee Municipal Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor Brian Gleason makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Mary Beth Phillips for Vice President. Kris Thompson seconded motion. The motion is carried.

President Elect: Therese Murphy from Yakima County District Court nominated. After hearing no further nominations from the floor, Sonia Ramirez makes a motion to close, and a unanimous vote be cast for Therese Murphy for President Elect. Patsy Robinson seconded motion. The motion is carried.

President: Frankie Peters from Thurston County District Court who served as President Elect this year will automatically advance to the office of President for the 2024-2025 term.

Installation of the Officers: Judge Buckley administers the Oath of Office to newly elected officers and regional directors present.

Outgoing President Presentation: Ellen Attebery presents Trish Kinlow with an award for her dedicated service as the president of DMCMA.

Introduction of New President: Trish Kinlow recognizes the accomplishments of 2023-2024 and the challenges to come. Trish passes the gavel to incoming President, Frankie Peters.

Judge Brett Buckley introduces, makes special remarks, and congratulates President Frankie Peters.

Frankie Peters accepts his position as DMCMA President, addresses members and gives his remarks.

New/Old Business:

None to report.

Trish Kinlow adjourns the meeting – 1:16 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Candace Enders 2023-2024 DMCMA Secretary